A Day In The Life Of An Amateur

Have you ever tried to capture a beautiful image or record your kid performing? Don’t you love the ideal of sharing that beautiful image or your kid’s performance with friends and family? Now, imagine purchasing new equipment to capture those special unforgettable moments and the camera or video camera does not work. Ugh, this happened to me yesterday. I was anxious to visit a neighborhood park that have been closed for a while. It opened this weekend and I woke up early, grab my camera and my husband and darted out the door.

We entered the park along with a host of other visitors. I pulled my camera out and laughed at a sign that read “professional photographers need a city permit”. I was no where near professional. I told my husband if they looked through my photos they would know I was no professional. I continued to attach my AF-P Nikkor 18-55 mm VR lenses to the camera and began to snap. I snapped a few good shots. I was doing really good and tried to avoid snapping pictures of other people.

We walked further through the park. we walked down the stairs and through the trees. Then it happened. I was pressing the button to capture beauty that was staring back at me but, there was nothing happening. I started to blame the camera. It wasn’t the camera’s fault. It was my inexperience. I have never owned a camera that had as many functions as this one. I did purchased a Nikon SLR l830 a few years ago but I didn’t get much use out of it. I purchased it to capture beauty on my vacations. It was too much to carry and I ended up using my IPhone camera instead.

The issue was I did not focus properly on the subject. The camera did not respond to the constant clicking. I lost the opportunity to capture that perfect shot. Once I realized my ignorance, I pulled out my pen and pad to make note of what I needed to study. How to focus lenses, was the words I jotted down. I continued to snap images and taking in my surroundings. My husband and I took turns as snapping pictures of one another. We finally made it to the waterfall. This is where all of the action was taking place. I switched my camera to record and I got nothing. I had had it with the Nikon. I turned the camera off, removed the strap from my neck , unscrewed the lens and put everything in my back pack. I pulled my notebook out and jotted down the words how to record. I placed the notebook back into the bag, zipped the bag and throw it on my back. I spent the day using my IPhone camera. Below are a few pictures I was able to capture.

We walked alone this bridge to get to the waterfall.
I used the AF-P Nikkor 70-300mm lenses this was one of the struggles I had.
I used the AF-P Nikkor 18-55mm lenses to capture this.
This had no beauty, I had to make some beauty…… keep scrolling.
Beauty in the making.
I became one with nature. Hehe.

That’s it for now. I am off to do some learning. I Shall return. Remember the old saying… ” beauty is in the eye of the beholder. “

5 replies to “A Day In The Life Of An Amateur

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star